Making quinces wine for the first time


September is month of preparing wines. This time it will be another experiment – quinces wine because this year was good for them and we get more than 20 kg these sour, yellow, hard fruits

Here is more than 5 kg of quinces in vintage basket

Usually size of quinces are around this one. In internet you can find size that remembers pear

For us this is the main reason why we have quinces. We chop them in slices than strew sugar on top and wait 12 hours than you can get tasty syrup and sliced quinces which we dry out and eat in winter

After chopping in slices you get core with little seeds which I throw in squeezer to get juice. I thought that 2 litters of juice will be enaught because it is quite extremely sour and these are particles which stays after all is done.

Recipe is: 2 litters of quinces juice, 10 liters of fresh water, 3 kilograms of sugar, yeast. Gravity was 1090 or 21. Done and wait!

Some inspiration from hoppy Brew Dogs beer called Challenger which has ultimate taste and extraordinary way of exposure

“From sour to sweet takes just 1 year”

About MrKAA

https://www.linkedin.com/in/kauzers
This entry was posted in diy, Garden, Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making quinces wine for the first time

  1. Ben Hardy says:

    Thanks for directing me to your blog. I get to taste the quince wine I made last year in a week or so’s time. I suspect it will be too dry, but I can put extra sugar in it when drinking it. I will put a post on my blog: bensadventuresinwinemaking.blogspot.com in probably two weeks.

  2. Ben Hardy says:

    I have now had my first bottle of my Quince wine, and my first impressions are here: http://bensadventuresinwinemaking.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/quince-wine-first-bottle-4-7th-october.html

Leave a Reply

